Why don't they short out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kland

Apr 12, 2017
Hi, noob here, so apologies in advance.
I've been watching demos/tutorials on how to do your own coil builds. One thing continues to puzzle me: every one of these guides I've read or watched has you squeezing the coils against one another using some type of heat-proof tweezers. Since the coils are metal, I assume they are conductive on their surface...so if you're squeezing the coils together such that they are touching one another, why does that not cause a short circuit, which would cause the whole thing to act like a simple (short) piece of solid wire? To put it another way: if I didn't create a coil at all but rather simply installed a straight piece of wire across the terminal posts, I would guess the resistance would be very close to 0 ohms (much closer than 0.5 ohms), and the mod would detect a short circuit (right?). Why doesn't a conductive coil with no insulation between its windings, and the windings touching each other, yield the same result? Instead the current seems to flow through the coils instead of going straight across the terminal posts. Are the coils not REALLY touching each other? Thanks.

Eskie

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 6, 2016
NY
The coils are really, really close to each other in "contact" coils but current will flow along the wire as its resistance to conduction is far lower than arcing between the wires. You'll note that even with careful compression with a pair of non-conductive ceramic tweezers, the metal is never "welded" together to make one continuous cylinder, so conduction across wraps is not seen.