18650 advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

SJvape

Jul 10, 2017
Hi all, I'm relatively new to the vaping scene. I had an aspire zelos with nautilus 2 tank as my first Vape, as I'm off work at the moment have strapped for cash. I brought a eleaf istick 200w tc with 3 avatar 2000mah 18650's on offer from eleaf uk

My question is regarding the batteries, I pass through charged then to begin with then I bought two cheap dual battery chargers from china, one of them works ok, it takes ages to fully charge my batteries, 6-7 hours at 650ma. The other one dosent like my flat top batteries, I was thinking of using a bit of tin foil to act as a 'nipple'. Would this be ok?

I have ordered a nitecore i4 2017 arriving tomorrow.

Should I just keep pass through charging until tomorrow or use the tin foil method?

Both seem risky, bit what one is worth the risk?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Tonee N

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 24, 2017
Nevada
Here is some information on your batteries,
https://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/index.php?threads/756463/
I would advise getting the Samsung 25r instead,
As far as pass through charging I would do that before using a cheap charger and definitely wouldn't use foil in between the contacts,
Wait until you get the Nitecore,
Hth

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G891A using Tapatalk

akksnv

Jan 17, 2016
I'm by no means a battery expert, but I think it's safe to say you do NOT want to mess with batteries in general, especially with the process of charging them (i.e. don't try the foil).

To maybe put it in perspective, you're already questioning whether or not to use foil, but there are already a few things you are doing that should be avoided.

"Best practice" is to use a dedicated charger, and not rely on your mod for charging. Given you're waiting on an external charger, though, it sounds like you're on the right track.