$5,000 fine for vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

SuperTaz

ECF Veteran
Nov 21, 2014
Quebec, Canada
Hi....the city of Ottawa, Canada passed a bill last night banning vaping on public transportation buses. A fine of Up to 5,000$ . I think this is a wonderful bill. It is idiots like these vapers who " I do it in your face cuz I can attitude " that is outlawing vaping.Vapers......showing a little restraint sometimes can go a long way in helping our cause....thank you.

Last edited:

Foggin Munky

Feb 28, 2015
Florida
While I don't like the idea of a 5G fine for vaping (or most laws for that matter), two things: (1) not my country, not my business. I've passed through Canada, more than once (top to bottom), but as a non resident I don't feel entitled to an opinion about their laws. (2) I try to be courteous about my vaping. I do hit it, inside, but do so rather in conspicuously and always blow clouds AWAY from others. Not just out of courtesy but also because I'm a vape Ninja :D By the time people see the cloud, the mod is back in my pocket and people are left wondering what just happened.

The Cloud Minder

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jul 28, 2014
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Hi....the city of Ottawa, Canada passed a bill last night banning vaping on public transportation buses. A fine of Up to 5,000$ . I think this is a wonderful bill. It is idiots like these vapers who " I do it in your face cuz I can attitude " that is outlawing vaping.Vapers......showing a little restraint sometimes can go a long way in helping our cause....thank you.

I understand and agree with the logic BEHIND your approval, but I couldn't disagree more. Is this fine really comiserate with the offense? Is it a $5,000 fine for smoking too? 'Cause it should be, or more.

One should not support idiotic legislation simply because the idea behind it is agreeable. The law (in this case the fine to offense ratio) should still be reasonable.

MoonSparkle

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 23, 2015