Status
Not open for further replies.

Mare1077

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 31, 2010
Miami, FL
Hi all. I am fairly new to vaping (Aug. 2) and I have been using KR808d-1 batteries and cartomizers and have been very happy with them. However, I have started some DIY juice and found it a pain to taste test with the cartos, so I bought a 901(808)/510 adapter and some regular 510 attys from Madvapes. I have to say I am really disappointed with the attys which really surprised me since I keep hearing how everyone's (or almost everyone's) favorite is the 510! There isn't as much vapor or throat hit and almost NO flavor. I have tried several flavors and they actually all taste the same. I am not talking the difference between cappuccino and kona coffee...I am talking the difference between cappuccino and blueberry! I understand that it takes a while to "break them in", but is that the problem? do I just have to tolerate mediocrity/yuckiness for a couple days til it gets good or am i missing something?

Bozzlite

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jul 31, 2010
Central Texas
Mare, I have a few 510 attys that just never did produce much vapor or flavor from the beginning. Others I have are just awesome. Sometimes its just sub par attys. All from the same company, same brand, but some are just plain duds. So far it seems that I'm getting about 40 percent duds. That is, 4 of the 10 I have are not so hot. In fact, 2 of those 4 are nearly unuseable. I ordered 3 more today, so hopefully at least 2 of them will be good performers.

This seems like a high percentage of duds to me but I think thats what we are getting.

Big Hitter

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 21, 2010
Binghamton, NY
I think some of the problem IMO is you have been using cartos for a while. For me once I went with cartomizers I could never go back to attys for just the reasons you listed ie less vapor, less taste.