Status
Not open for further replies.

yardbyrd

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2012
Carrollton, Georgia USA
You hear the smooth, even, sound of a coil firing well and as it makes a light snapping sound YardByrd suddenly appears -out of thin air- seated on a plain, brown, wooden, perch with a bevel cut on 1/4 of the "T". His platinum "YB" medallion is glowing lavender and you hear a deep, smooth, male, Latin, voice translating for him:

"Hail, lauds, greetings, and a big Thank You, to you coil builders who post in this sub forum on ECF! I have become interested, lately, in attempting to build micro coils and in particular to try some kind of build using cotton wick. So...I came to ECF -of course! :)

I studied and read many posts by you skilled and sharing builders. I went to YouTube, when indicated, and watched, listened and studied.

Today, for the first time, I built two successful micro coils! The first was for my IGO L. I used, also for the first time successfully, 28ga Kanthal wire. I built a micro coil using it and 3ml silica wick, less one strand as per instructions, and got a 1.4 ohm head that works like a dream!

Encouraged, I decided to try, once again, after many, many, failures to try to build a micro coil using cotton wick for a Protank head. I tried 28ga Kanthal but it was just too thick for me to use well. I changed to 32ga and used a paper clip to wrap the coil. I torched, tested, and fired my coil, again, due to excellent information found in this sub forum. The result was my first successful Protank head rebuild! The resulting coil came in at 1.3 ohms.

I am surprised, after rebuilding Vivi Nova heads, my IGO L, and my AGA T2, how much easier -and shorter-micro coils made my build times.