A tobacco e-cig?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TropicalBob

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jan 13, 2008
Port Charlotte, FL USA
I'm using a tobacco e-cig at this very moment. It doesn't use nicotine in any liquid concoction that would need testing and FDA approval, yet produces copious vapor, no doubt containing nicotine.

First, a little background. I've been e-smoking for 19 months and have tried making my own home liquid many times. I've cooked pipe tobacco, dissolved Stonewall dissolvables in vegetable glycerine, you name it. Nothing has been very successful. I have liquid, but I know nothing of its nicotine content, or whether other undesirable substances are in the resulting vapor.

My last experiment involved pure pipe tobacco. I let some soak in vegetable glycerine for a couple of days. To begin, I removed the polyfil filter from a cartridge. Then I inserted the soaked tobacco and tamped it down tightly, just as I would my pipe.

It made vapor. Tasted like a pipe, in fact. But the tobacco bits began to stick to the atomizer and I foresaw killing an atomizer if I continued doing this. So I dropped that idea.

Today, as I got ready to pop a snus in my mouth ... I had an idea. I filled a spoon with VG, put the General Mini Mint pouch in the liquid and let it soak. Then I removed the wet snus, pinched an end and "screwed" it down into a vacant cart core.

Now this works! I have tons of vapor, thanks to the VG, plus some mint flavor from the snus. These snus, by the way, are extremely safe, by tobacco standards. Their tobacco is pasteurized under food standards, and the low TSNAs that result are topped only by Ariva and Stonewall dissolvables. This is about as risk-free as it gets.

So there you go, FDA. My e-cig is a tobacco product now, vaping pure snus tobacco soaked with a GRAS carrier to create the vapor.

TropicalBob

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jan 13, 2008
Port Charlotte, FL USA