An Effort to Quell Some Fears about Vaping....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kimmy

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 3, 2009
I have been vaping for about 2 years now, so I figured I would share some things I've learned about vaping along the way--health wise.

The first couple months of vaping, any ailment or irregularity I got, I attributed to vaping. The first side effect I experienced was a tightness in my chest (mostly while laying down). I went to the doctor who did all kinds of tests, including an x-ray, allergy test, and a pulmonary function test (all of which were normal). I was sure it was vaping--it had to be. The verdict? Doctor said my asthma was acting up and recommended a daily inhaler and zyrtec, especially since my allergies have gotten worse in adult hood. I also got a cat around this time and may have been slightly allergic. I no longer experience tightness in my chest, and now after much work and time put in, can run 5 miles at the gym. I've never been able to do that--not even in HS. I'm in the best shape I have ever been in my life!

The next symptom I experienced I was sure vaping was the culprit. I had a breakout of tiny bumps right around my forehead and on my head. I knew it couldn't be acne...I never even had that as a teen. I went to my family doctor who informed me it could be psoriases (since it runs in my family). Since I did not like that diagnosis after googling it, I went to a dermatologist who informed me I had a case of acne--possibly hormonal causes. He provided me with some cream, and it cleared up roughly 6 months later. Phew..

The most recent symptom was itching and a rash on various parts of my body (my arm, leg, etc). I was sure this had to be a randomly occuring PG allergy! Low and behold my mother and father also had the rash a day after me? Verdict? Poison ivy from a hike a few days earlier.