Any tips about refilling my 501 cartridges

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgupta

ECF Veteran
Jun 10, 2009
I'm actually in the same boat as you (just ordered my 510 today!), but I've learned a good bit of what you can do to easily refill carts on here. Since I'm NOT an experts, you'll probably want to wait for a reply from experts, but here's how I think I'm going to do it.

First of all, I'm buying a bunch of empty carts so I can reuse them (for the same flavor) until they're shot, then toss. If you're washing a pre-filled one to use a new flavor, I'm not sure how to do that yet, though I know it's possible.

For new carts/same flavor I bought a little needle-tipped bottle (precision oiler is another name for it) on the suggestion of another poster. A syringe also works great. Then you want to stick the needle part through the foam liner to the bottom and fill with liquid til it's slightly wet at the top of the liner, but not heavily pooled either.

If you don't have a needle-tipped bottle/syringe, I hear a paperclip bent out straight also works great - you just want to make sure the liquid can go to the bottom of the insert.

I'm looking forward to trying it.

DC2

Tootie Puffer
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 21, 2009
San Diego
For new carts/same flavor I bought a little needle-tipped bottle (precision oiler is another name for it) on the suggestion of another poster. A syringe also works great. Then you want to stick the needle part through the foam liner to the bottom and fill with liquid til it's slightly wet at the top of the liner, but not heavily pooled either.
Not "through" the filler, but down along the side of the filler against the cartridge edge. If you try to go down through the filler you will push the filler down, which means you'll have to pull it up again afterwards.
:)