Anyone ever set off a smoke detector with their vapor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buster Keaton

Oct 26, 2011
United States
The reason I am concerned is that i am a filmmaker and I have used smoke machines burning pure PG on a couple sets and they always and i mean always set off the smoke detectors. I even used one outdoors and there was a set of airlocked double doors near the set. By airlocked i mean a set of doors, then a small vestibule and then two more doors. and the smoke detectors went off inside when someone went inside and it was more than 50 ft from the doors.

Xaiver

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 22, 2011
Clearwater, MN
If you're vaping like a smoke machine, then I'm jealous. Pics or it didn't happen. ;)

Seriously though, I take really really hot showers during the winter, and the bathroom gets so that you have to swim to get to the door. I -have- set off the smoke alarms with that before, but the fog in the bathroom was super thick.

If it weren't 2AM with everyone sleeping, I'd go vape into my smoke alarm for a few minutes...but it is, and I can't.

I wouldn't say you were being paranoid though, just cautious. It's probably not a bad idea to just blow it toward the other corner of the room. Unless it's super humid, the vapor dissipates within a few seconds anyhow.

-X

grandmato5

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 30, 2010
WNY
Yes, it can set a fire alarm off. BUT unless you are vaping a lot of vapor toward the detector its not likely to go off. Not much different then smoking a cigarette in that reguard. I've smoked in a lot of hotel rooms in past years all with smoke detectors and I've never set an alarm off. Doesn't mean it cant happen, but doesn't mean its automatically going to either. Caution in vaping in your dorm room is a good thing if you don't wish to call attention to your vaping.

ardelleg

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 3, 2011
Alaska