Can't get a job if you are a smoker!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

orlampagal

ECF Veteran
Mar 29, 2009
United States
www.myspace.com
A few months ago, I went to a job fair. The county that is about 45 minutes from me had several openings in their courthouse. I have had 3 years experience with that specific work, and was super excited after having spoken with their HR person about a particular position that seemed was perfect for me. She gave me her direct line, and email and asked me to fill out the application and scan/email it to her. I did as I was told until I got to the last page. On the last page it asks "Have you smoked, or taken tobacco in any form in the last year?"

Well at that time I was still a smoker, so I called her up, and told her that yes I still smoked, but would definitely quit for the position. She said I had to be smoke free for a minimum of a year. I asked her how would she know if someone has smoked? They test for nicotine!!! can you believe that!!

So... while using an e-cig, I still would be banned from this work place, not to mention many others in this area. Most hospitals have gone smoke free and won't even let you smoke in the parking lot. Of course this doesn't apply to me because I vape, but still... can they discriminate like that? I asked her why they don't hire tobacco users and her answer was that the health insurance goes up too high because of their upper respiratory problems and that even if you quit, their insurance goes up. It seems ridiculous for me at any rate. What's your opinion?

malyden

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 31, 2008
OH