The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

Can't get good flavor from my chimbus!

Discussion in 'Rebuildable Atomizer Systems' started by FrostyDream, Dec 11, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. FrostyDream

FrostyDream Full Member

Feb 11, 2012
    United States
    I'm new to rebuilding. I have a nimbus clone, came with a coil around silica, tasted like crap. Rebuilt it with cotton and was pretty good. That was a week ago so I'm rebuilding now and every time I try it tastes bad. Usually tastes like dirty socks and now it just tastes plain bad. did 5, 6, and 7 wraps around the alan key that came with the atty, duel coil at .6 - .8 ohms. The cotton has been boiled. The coils were torched before place on the atty and wicked. I've tried making the cotton looser in the coil. They don't heat up perfectly even but close enough. I've had similar luck with silica. They legs are clipped flush with the posts. I tried a dragon coil. didn't affect the taste. idk what to do.

2. cghildreth

cghildreth Super Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

Nov 4, 2012
    Central Texas
    Watch a few videos on how to setup micro coils. Follow the examples. Presto. You've got a great vape.

Post pics and we may be able to help more.

3. nickvegas

nickvegas Senior Member Verified Member ECF Veteran

Apr 7, 2013
    las vegas
    It could be the insulator in the center post,It's usually made of cheep rubber if it's melted that's your colper.

4. Exile

Exile Super Member ECF Veteran

Feb 5, 2013
    Dallas,Tx
    Are you making sure your air flow hole is blowing directly in front/over your coil?

Post some pics if you can...

5. metamorpheus

metamorpheus Senior Member ECF Veteran

Jul 25, 2013
    AZ