Status
Not open for further replies.

Impulso

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 23, 2013
Rocklin, ca
Hi all,

spent many hours perusing the topics but am confused about a few things.

1) why do so many have carto tanks AND RBAs/RBTs and use them both? I've seen many say that RBAs are better? If so why do you still use your carto tanks? Isn't this a recurring expense that you could avoid(not about the money, but why pay for inferiority?)

2) do all carto tanks leak, or is it about the build?

3) non resistive wire - is it required for all ceramic cup devices? It seems in Todd's videos, he doesn't mention the use of it in the taifun etc? How fragile are these cups, and are replacements easy to buy?

i'm fascinated at all the choices, but yet have more questions than i can find answers to. Its great to have these forums to get answers from!! Thanks!

UncHellMatt

ECF Veteran
Feb 28, 2013
Boston
Hi there, Impulso!

I'm a relative newbie to RBAs, and started out with cartos and carto tanks. Here is what I've found as far as answers to what you asked.

1) I use carto tanks and Kanger ProTanks primarily when I'm traveling, or just to and from work. Of those two, the carto decidedly gives much, much better flavor (IMO), however I've found cartos "waste" a lot of juice saturating the cotton. On top of that, I've either over filled very easily or under filled carto tanks so that I've either flooded them or burnt them respectively.

Are cartos better than RBAs? Oof. In my opinion? No. I've found that my RSST with an Ekowool wick and tight coil give me much, much better flavor and vapor. My Fogger, while temperamental, is my favorite so far. Insane clouds of vapor and flavor on par with a carto. Also, I like chocolate flavors at 50/50, and that type of juice just destroys cartos for me. I would go through one every other day.