Charging 18650 in an external charger with the adapter sleeve on

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arvellon

Mar 6, 2018
Hi guys,

First of all, I'm not really sure if this is the right thread so don't kill me if it isn't.

I'm vaping on the Vandy vape Pulse 80W with the Profile rda which comes with a sleeve to extend an 18650 battery to fit in the 20700 battery socket.

The problem is however, that the sleeve is quite tight and not so easy to remove and put back on.

So I'm wondering: Can I just put the 18650 battery with the sleeve still on in my external battery charger?

Thanks in advance

Reactions: stols001

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
Personally, I’d be afraid of the battery getting too warm internally but I’m no expert. Hopefully someone with more battery - charger knowledge will come along soon.
Great minds think alike. :thumb:

I've never come across this situation before, but I would be concerned that the battery could become too warm with the sleeve on while charging. One of the positive benefits of using an external charger as opposed to charging via USB inside a mod is it allows you to monitor the battery temperature by touch. Charging batteries can temporarily increase internal and external temperature of batteries. In fact, charging batteries is one of the most common causes of battery fires.

E-Cigarette Explosions: Comprehensive List
There have been 50 major incidents this year (2016) alone and that's just the ones which make the news. They also go on to say...
"It is interesting to note that the nature of e-cigarette explosions has changed over the years. The FEMA document cited above suggests that approximately 80 percent of e-cigarette explosions happen during charging."