Chemistry question: Could propylene glycol cause depression & other symptoms as study suggests

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamminShaman

Jun 10, 2018
Hello. I was hoping a chemist or someone familiar with the chemistry of propylene glycol could respond to this. Could vapors be ingesting enough pg to significantly increase D-lactate concentrations leading to ailments similar to what the cats in the study experienced: depression, ataxia, encephalopathy, etc.? We must be ingesting exorbitant amounts of pg daily and I wonder if this could lead to depression, etc? I've been vaping on and off since 2011 and love it but I'm concerned with the potential risks associated with inhaling pg. Here is a copy of the study:

Christopher MM, Eckfeldt JH, Eaton JW.

Department of Veterinary Pathobiology, University of Minnesota, St. Paul.