Cleaning Tips from a Beginner - Is Your Tank Leaking, Gurgling, Spitting?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stratm69

Feb 3, 2015
I'm new to vaping yet, but I never run into the common problems such as gurgling or spitting from my tanks. I've only run into one leaking issue so far, but that was an error on my behalf.

My two tanks are the Atlantis and the Subtank Mini.

What's my secret? Cleaning my tanks on a regular basis.

I fully disassemble the tank and give each part, except for the coil, a good rinse under warm water and thoroughly dry them out with a soft bath towel. Then, I use many Q-tips to reach the tight, hard-to-get areas, until each part is fully dry.

I do this each time when I decide to try a new juice, pop in a new coil, or figure it's just time for a cleaning which is usually every 2-4 days I figure depending upon the mood I'm in.

If you're on the fly, a quick way to clean your tank is to take some Q-tips and swab out the chimney, drip tip, and the hole where your drip tip is inserted. Just be sure to clean up any pieces of cotton that may have fallen off, I doubt you want to inhale those by any chance.

I never clean the coils though as I haven't explored the "dry burning" techniques yet. Can't say I want to yet because I'm fine with buying $5 coils, it's saving me some trial and error and a potential headache. Someday though.

Also, I never vape in the cold. And these last few months have been FRIGID! With larger tanks such as the Atlantis or Subtank Mini, the cold can make the metal portions of the tank contract. Also, the metal can expand with warmth or heat. Most tanks are 99% metal. This can be a big factor in leaking tanks, more than what some may think in my opinion.