Clearomizers and VG - maintenance and cleaning

Status
Not open for further replies.

PowerfulDot

ECF Veteran
Mar 17, 2009
Seattle, WA USA
I haven't vaped since about 5 years ago and I'm starting up again so I'm new to some of this cool recent tech. I used to use a DES801 back then. I'm waiting on this puppy to arrive (https://www.fasttech.com/products/1464400) and I'm going to be using VG liquids only. Is this going to be harder on the clearomizer than a PG liquid would be? How should I clean it, and how often?

Thanks!

bacc.vap

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 18, 2011
Virtualville
A high% VG juice will definitely dirty up the coil faster. I don't use bottom coil clearos, but nevertheless, when I used 100% VG juices I would clean and dry burn after 4 or 5 mls of juice was run through the coil. This could vary depending on the specific juice, but that's when I found the performance to dwindle and when the coil started to get a burnt on crust, which I tried to avoid because it made cleaning harder. You'll have to determine cleaning intervals with some experience with how the coils get with your particular vaping style.