Coil burnt out after 3 days

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheska

Jan 14, 2019
Hi guys, don't know if I've posted this in the correct location.

I dropped my vape some time around Christmas- since then the coil would burn out or become too weak to use. I thought maybe it was because I dropped it (and it's about a year old)I know I'm not burning them out, so I bought a new one. But it's been 3 days and it's gone really weak again.

Some more info: both vapes I have mentioned are the Aspire K3. I've been using 3mg juice for about 3 months now, so I don't think that's the issue, nor do I think my vaping habits have changed. I've been using 1.8ohm coils- I thought maybe I should be using 1.6, but with this new kit, I've been given 2 1.8ohm coils, so surely it's not that.

I don't really know what I'm doing with vapes, but this is just annoying. And the cost will add up if I have to replace the coil every 3 days. Any help?

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal
HI, Cheska, and welcome. Aspire K3's internal battery has a fixed output of 5.5v, which means that you're vaping at ~18 watts, whether you're using a 1.6 or 1.8Ω coil. I don't own this kit so can't speak from experience, but it's a little high, just IMHO. Especially if you feel that your coils are burning out. My normal recommendation would be to lower your wattage, but you can't do this with Aspire K3. So you'll have to make sure you 1) prime your coils well before using them to make sure they are fully saturated, 2) don't vape too fast and don't chain vape, 3) make sure you never let your tank run dry, and 5) switch to higher percentage PG eliquids (or add a drop or 2 of distilled water per tank if you're using high VG juices).

As for cost, order replacement coils from Fasttech--their prices are very reasonable. They carry Nautilus coils--I suggest you stick to 1.8Ω to lower your wattage.

Cheska

Jan 14, 2019
Thanks for the replies.