Coil design for efficient application of heat

Status
Not open for further replies.

spaceman84

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 17, 2013
North Carolina
I'll admit that I'm no engineer, but it occurred to me that the coil shape may not be the best for utilizing as much heat produced by the wire for generating vapor. Certainly there are a lot of factors. The ones that occur to me are even heat distribution, proper air flow. I'm not sure whether having wick material on both sides of the wire is better, or whether the wick should be on the inside or outside of a coil (depending on coil orientation). I'd like to think that there is an industrial heating element used for some kind of vapor production that could be emulated but I wouldn't know where to start. Has anyone researched something like this?

UncleChuck

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 20, 2011
Portland
I haven't researched it from a scientific perspective, but from experience both configurations have their strengths and weaknesses. I have attys with both horizontal coils with the wick inside, and vertical coils with the wick outside and I feel horizontal coil taste better with certain juices and vertical coils taste better with other juices.

This is just personal preference obviously, but that's my point, I don't think there is any scientific "best" configuration, people desire different qualities in a vape and different configurations offer different performance so "the best" is going to vary from person to person.

Uranium Willie

Jun 26, 2015
My only experience building coils is on the Kanger STank Mini, but from trial and error, research, and variable tweaking, i found this to work:

Microcoil of 24g kanthal, horizontal (4/5 rounds) with the cotton wick twisted tight, passed through insidr of coil, and left long.