Status
Not open for further replies.

amoret

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 2, 2013
Sharon, ND, USA
This isn't a problem type of question, just a curiosity one. I'm just getting into this, and one of my three flavors so far is single flavor English Toffee, using Nature's Flavors. So far very good, though I'm going to try adding a bit of vanilla to the next batch.

What's got me curious, though, is that it is clear when mixed and gradually turns a kind of pinkish brown over the first week. There is also an improvement in the flavor at about the same rate, mostly more complexity. Steeping, I know, as far as the flavor. But what causes the color change? My Earl Grey Tea also starts out clear and the flavor changes some, but the color doesn't change. So why would one flavor change color but not the other one?

Inquiring minds want to know.

Exchaner

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 29, 2013
California
Nic oxidation is unlikely to be causing the color change in a newly mixed liquid. Otherwise your nic solution will also change color simultaneously in its original bottle - unless of course the added flavorings accelerate nicotine oxidation. Another possibility might be some type of chemical reaction between the nic and the flavorings. I hope that is not the case since we do not know what new chemicals are born from that reaction.

Last edited:
Actually, this is a very complex and difficult question. What causes different colors with metals is pretty straightforward, assuming one is proficient in general chemistry, but apart from the typical oxidation and reduction states of elemental metals, things get messy really fast. I would also much appreciate input on this question from anyone that understands this kind of wet chemistry.