• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

Customs South Africa

Status
Not open for further replies.

videvinci

ECF Veteran
Aug 18, 2009
South Africa
Well now all my South African fellow vapers- DHL phoned me this morning to notify me that Customs is holding my package from Eastmall. I am totally astounded as I had been ordering from them since Oct 2009 and this has never happened. This package in effect is a resend of a previous one that got lost. I now think the lost one could be at at customs . The value is over 200$. I need some advice as I really don't want to loose this package as well. What should I do?

gavin

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 20, 2009
Joburg, South Africa
My last package from eastmall was also stopped, the couriers, TNT, faxed me a form to fill out and I had to pay duty and an admin fee, R300 in all, and the package was sent through to me. According to them you can import no more than 3 times a year and no more than R20 000 worth of goods. So check with DHL if you need to go to customs yourself or if they can do it for you, it will cost you a bit more if they do it but might be worth it.

videvinci

ECF Veteran
Aug 18, 2009
South Africa
Thanks Gavin- But I might have ordered 3x this year for 200$. That is not nearly R20 000. According to EM, they send pens. Would it be a problem if customs opens the package and discovers it is e-cig paraphernalia? I am not able to go to customs as I live in the countryside more than 200 km away. What was the amount you ordered for customs to raise the levy of R300 ?

gavin

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 20, 2009
Joburg, South Africa