Dark Spots Showing Under battery Wrap VTC4 & VTC5's 18650

Status
Not open for further replies.

dubliquid

Apr 23, 2014
UK
Apologies mods if this thread is in the wrong category. i did make 5 initial posts to try post in the correct forum section but I'm still unable to post there. As a new member i thought this may help anyone else who is having the same issues.

I've been vaping heavy for about 6 months. i use mainly mech mods and mainly drip.

I've noticed that many of my vtc4's and Vtc5's have been showing dark spots under the wrappings, i've not been too concerned due to reading online saying that it's due to the wrapping getting hot and nothing more. I'm not having any issues with batteries getting hot only issues just dark spots.. So i decided to take a look under the wrapper of one of my batteries that works fine but has alot of these dark spots, i wanted to investigate more. I've searched everywhere on the internet to try find someone that has had the same issue or knows what exactly is happening to create these dark spots, but can't find any info at all :(

Would someone who knows whats going on shed some light on the issue please.

this is what i found under the wrapper

2014-07-31 23.38.21.jpg

After a good clean i managed to remove about 98% of the marks that were on the surface of the bat after it looks like:

batclean.jpg

Can anyone shed some light on whats actually causing this to happen, those dark spots on the surface of bat in the first picture look a bit worrying. seems to show on many of my batteries.

Also just to add, ive been building coils for months with no shorting issues or cheap builds.. i do my best to ensure my builds are safe and all connectivity is done correctly. so i have no idea what could be causing these spots.

Last edited:

classwife

Admin
Admin
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 9, 2010
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Best on the market though, class...they are Sony's...