Do I need to use something for short protection (i.e. 2 cent or ShortStop) with Legacy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gunderpersonn

Verified Member
Jul 4, 2012
Madison, WI
Hello Everyone,
Just ordered a legacy mini and I'm looking forward to receiving it. I'm looking for opinions about whether I should use a 2 cent or ShortStop fuse protection with the Legacy. Here is my set up (and no I won't stack batteries):

Xtar WP2II Charger (I do babysit the batteries while charging and take them off once charged)
AW IMR batteries (18350 and the one slightly larger 18490?)
Legacy Mini and Extender

Is it advisable that I also use one of the protection mechanisms listed above?
Also, I plan to order a Kick when they come into stock. Does that offer protection making the 2 cent or ShortStop unnecessary?
I don't want to blow up my face:)

Thanks for advice and opinions!
Dawn

CaSHMeRe

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jun 12, 2008
USA
Hi Dawn,

I have no experience with the 2 cent/shortstop fuse protection. For the price, I'd give it a shot and post your results.

They key to battery safety in general, is what you've posted. Keep a watchful eye at all time. If you head to Battery Information Table of Contents, Basic to Advanced -- You can also learn quite a bit :)

Scott_Simpson

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 7, 2012
Fort Wayne, IN
With a single, un-Kicked battery in a purely mechanical mod like the Legacy, it is advisable to run some sort of protection against dead shorts. The 2¢ For Safety and the Shortstop fuses provide this protection for very little money, and the fuses are easily attached/detached from the battery making it easy to move the fuse when replacing the battery. Of the very few things that can go wrong with a mechanical mod, a dead short is the most potentially catastrophic!