gpjoe

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 30, 2013
Up North
Just saw this - not sure if it has already been posted:

Study suggests e-cigarette flavorings may pose heart risk

Article reports that laboratory tests on "cells that normally line healthy human blood vessels" using six different e cigarette flavorings concluded that "vaping and some flavorings, even without nicotine, triggered blood vessel dysfunction that can increase the risk of heart disease..."

Apparently they found that cinnamon and menthol flavors were the "most toxic".

sonicbomb

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 17, 2015
1187 Hundertwasser
A BBC documentary I saw (I cannot remember the name) indicated that some epithelial cell damage was noted specifically with menthol flavorings. I'm not a scientist or a doctor and I have no access to the research data that may or may not have resulted in this article. I think it is quite possible that certain flavorings do cause some cell damage.
However, vaping should be considered as a harm reduction method, not harm-free. If an increase in the risk of heart disease is the price to pay compared to the unholy rain of health risks associated with smoking, then so be it.

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL

B2L

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 14, 2012
Jacksonville, FL
Vaping is the bane of.......the tobacco industry. Or so they want us to think. I actually doubt vaping has made that much of a dent in their profits worldwide. But you can be sure that somebody high up in BT wants to make sure it doesnt.

The vaping market is estimated here at $22.6 billion and growing...

Vaping - the rise in five charts