Status
Not open for further replies.

srcowell

ECF Veteran
Sep 17, 2010
Kansas City, KS
A couple of years ago, I downloaded the Excel spreadsheet offered by Scubabatdan to help with my DIY experiments. Dan obviously put a lot of work into it, and I studied it very closely. I love working with Excel, so I started playing around with Dan's spreadsheets and customizing them to fit my own needs. My variations of Dan's spreadsheets kind of took on a life of their own, and I kept playing around with the variations until it had a much different look and worked in much different ways.

At one point during the development, I emailed Dan to show him what I had been doing, but I never got a reply, so I don't know if he even saw it. I kind of hope he didn't examine it, because shortly after sending him my Excel file, I discovered some major flaws in my calculations! Of course, I quickly fixed those flaws, and I continued to play around with my version, developing my variations, until it became a whole different animal in many ways.

My workbook is also coupled with a Word file called "Recipes" that is a compilation of recipe cards, graphic images captured from the Excel Recipe card that Dan first invented and I later customized. I found a VB macro that allows for copying the Recipe Card image in Excel and pasting it to the end of the Word file with the click of a button on the Excel sheet. The button is right next to the Recipe Card in Excel, so if a recipe is displayed on the sheet and you want to add it to the Word Recipe Book, just click the button and it opens that Word file and pastes the recipe at the end, so you can keep adding recipes. The Word file has two recipe cards per page, so you can print them out and they're a nice big size you can keep handy when making a batch.