First person to block me on Google+

Status
Not open for further replies.
About Marc Steinberg - I'm an assistant professor of psychiatry at Robert Wood Johnson Medical School where I conduct research on tobacco use and dependence. As a member of the Motivational Interviewing Network of Trainers, I also train clinicians in the use of motivational interviewing. Other professional memberships include the Society for Research on Nicotine and tobacco (SRNT) and the American Psychological Association's Society of Addiction Psychology (APA Division 50).

I'm also the proud father of three kids, one of whom has Down syndrome, so if you "circle" me, you're likely to see disability advocacy posts in addition to my tobacco use and dependence posts (though some will just be sent to my "Intellectual / Developmental Disabilities" circle).

You can find me listed on group.as under the following categories:
Psychologists
Tobacco Control
Academics
Public Health

Lastly, I'm a big fan of David Allen's Getting Things Done (GTD) productivity methodology and have an annoying habit of telling anyone who will listen that they should use it too!

Employment:
Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, present

Education:

Ph.D. - University of South Florida
Clinical Psychology

M.A. - University of South Florida
Clinical Psychology

B.A. - Rutgers University
Psychology, Communication

Thad Marney - In light of the fact that evidence-based treatments for nicotine dependence have less than 50% long term success rates, why does Dr. Fiore not recommend non-therapeutic smoke-free alternatives to smokers who have been unable or unwilling to completely quit smoking even while suffering from a chronic disease that is caused or worsened by continued smoking?

Marc Steinberg - I can't speak for Dr. Fiore, but I would never recommend anything that wasn't evidence-based because by definition, if it wasn't evidence-based, I wouldn't have a reason to believe it would work.