RDA First RDA Build - Popping/Shooting Hot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello - I'm new to RDAs. Got my first build going last night. I have a Stingray Black/Copper Clone Mod with a Hobo V2 on .45 Ohms. I am not sure if I am not using enough wicking - it is popping and shooting hot splashes of vapey juice out of the air holes. I believe I am keeping it wet. I am dripping a lot. Is this normal? The two air holes are opened right to the coil. It is thick warm vape and I am getting fairly good flavor from it. Just a bit of a shock when a hot splash of juice hits my chin or neck. Any suggestions on how to curb this? :confused:

I guess I should add I am vaping a 35VG/65PG mix. Is the VG the problem?

Last edited:

Debadoo

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 18, 2012
Texas, near Fort Hood
I am brand new to doing this, so I don't know a lot about it, but from what I have experienced and read, it would seem likely that you have a hot spot in the coil. Did you test fire it before you wicked it? Was it glowing evenly from the inside out? If not, I would take the wick out and do that. If it's not even fire it, quit firing and squeeze the coil with tweezers, keep repeating this til it glows evenly. The stingray is a mech right? I know nothing about them, so dunno if sub ohms on mech mods don't like the higher pg or not. I know I use 67-70 pg on a RDA with a regulated mod with no issues. If you already knew what I just said.....forgive me, and carry on. lol

alicewonderland

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 28, 2012
0.45 should be a hot vape on a mech mod. the crackling and splashing is normal for something like that, if your airholes are huge then they usually pop out of them, you can remedy this somewhat by just inhaling as soon or before you fire the button to keep the coils from heating up so quickly, or just build a coil with a little higher resistance

Lova

ECF Veteran
Nov 5, 2014
Finland