Status
Not open for further replies.

natchez

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 4, 2012
Nevada
To the FDA:

I am writing regarding the proposed regulations of electronic nicotine delivery systems (“ENDS”). I do not refer to them as e-cigarettes, because they are not really in any way cigarettes. ENDS neither contain any leaf tobacco nor do they require combustion to be used. I hold a PhD, a JD and am a college professor. I am a 61 year-old male that smoked cigarettes from the age of about 15 until switching to ENDS about three years ago. I have seen significant health benefits, including measurably better pulmonary function. My adoption of ENDS was endorsed by my physician who measured the increased pulmonary function. After my exclusive adoption of ENDS and my cessation of cigarette smoking, my COPD improved to the point that I no longer require a daily inhaled medicine for treatment. My level of nicotine use has also declined, much as was found in this study: IJERPH | Free Full-Text | Characteristics, Perceived Side Effects and Benefits of Electronic Cigarette Use: A Worldwide Survey of More than 19,000 Consumers.

Over all the years I smoked cigarettes, the only effective help I found was in ENDS. I tried the cessation products you currently have approved without any measure of success. The patches made me ill and the chewing gum was simply disgusting; these items are also expensive ended up useless for me. I know they have helped some people, but from what I have read they are not a true hit and fail in most cases. Nicotine addiction is insidious; my personal belief is it may be amongst the worst of all possible addictions to overcome. I have come to grips with minimizing my nicotine usage as much as practicable and at least now with ENDS I do not endanger others with second-hand smoke and am far more welcome in other people’s company satisfying my addiction.