Geek Vape Aegis Boost RBA coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

Liazard

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 13, 2016
When I bought the Aegis Boost RBA pod, it came with 2 KA1/28 ga/1.3 ohm coils with 6 wraps and 2.5 mm inside diameter (the label said 10-15W). I followed a YouTube video and was able to accomplish the mission.

Although it also included 2 larger fused Clapton coils (3mm, 0.6 ohm, said 20-30W), I used the smaller KA1 and am happy with it, just about perfect for MTL. From what I've seen online, the Clapton coils are better suited to DL.

How do I find more of these KA1 coils? There are no coils with these specs on the GeekVape website or any of the vendors I searched. Again, please keep in mind I'm completely new to this - not even sure what KA1 or Clapton means.

Last edited:

Beamslider

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 29, 2017
San Francisco
Aegis Boost comes with 0.4 ohm and 0.6 ohm coils in the kit. Both are KA1 coils. KA1 is Kanthal. These are the premade coils for the Aegis Boost.

The RBA unit for it if that is what you are using is rebuildable. You can make your own coils and install or use pre-coiled ones to replace the one in it.

Are you using the RBA unit for it?

KA1 is Kanthal wire. Clapton coils are made of multiple wires wrapped.

Liazard

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 13, 2016
Yes I am talking about the RBA unit, which I have installed on the Boost. The RBA unitwunit came with two each of two types of coils. I described them in my post. My question is how to buy new ones because they don't seem to be available, even Geek Vape doesn't sell them. Alternatively, can you suggest some coils that are available that would be suitable for MTL in this device?

Beamslider

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 29, 2017
San Francisco
You can buy pre-coiled wire in 1.3 ohm spec. Doesn't have to be from Geekvape. But you should be able to burn off and re-wick the coils you have installed several times.