Help first box mod question

Status
Not open for further replies.

VpnDrgn

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jul 21, 2010
Gulfport, MS.
I am just a noob to soldering, but if you don't get the soldering point of contact hot enough, the flux
just melts and the solder floats around on it instead of bonding to surface. The surface has to be hot
enough for the flux to kinda flash boil off the surface.

Let the soldering iron get completely hot and then touch the solder to the end and you'll see how the
flux kinda sizzles and evaporates quickly. That's what should happen when you solder your connections.

If I am wrong, I am sure one of the pros will correct me.

breaktru

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Yes larger surface area require more heat.
You melt the solder with the object being soldered. Don't melt the solder with the iron on to the object.
And.... be careful to not destroy the atty insulator with excessive heat. You can remove the insulator prior to soldering the atty base.
If you leave the insulator in like I do because I am lazy, rapidity cool the atty with a couple of drops of water to re-harden the soft insulator that became soft due to the heat.

MickeyRat

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 4, 2011
Hickory, NC
As others have said, you have to get it pretty hot. On all two I've done, I pulled the center out and soldered it separately. I was making a bottom feeder so I had a syringe needle through the center. I put the atty center in a vise (lightly), wrapped the wire around the tube and held it to the atty center with the iron for a maybe 30 seconds. Then I started in with the rosin core. After cooling, pull on the wire to make sure it's good and solid. Sand down any high spots. Pull the wire again to make sure you didn't get rid of anything you needed. Lube it with a little PG and wiggle the center back into the connector with everything attached. It's kind of a pain. I may get some flux and see if I can do it in place.

CraigHB

Ultra Member