Status
Not open for further replies.

Starchild47

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 11, 2010
Tennessee
Hey all
My brother is on a military base in Afghanastan. I want to send a care package of homemade goodies for Christmas this year. I have never done this before. I know it takes quite some time to get stuff over there and I will be limited on what I can send that won't spoil etc. Is there any way to pack dry ice or any suggestions to help get stuff there without it going bad? Any special shipping suggestions?
My dad wants us to go together and send a really nice thing for him this year since he will be alone.
Thanks so much for any help you can give me!
Kim

Lightgeoduck

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 7, 2009
jp(APO)Camp Z us
the military postal system is sometimes very slow .. especially in the region your brother is at.. yes you are limited as to what you can send... I think the best thing (which I think is a requirement as well) is non perishable items... dry ice is definitely not acceptable. chips, candies, (not chocolate..it will melt), cookies, slim jims, etc should be alright.

you will have to fill out a customs form even though you will be sending it domestic USPS... care package / snacks or something of that nature would be enough for the description...

you can send it priority, but first class will get there around the same time. I would suggest sending it with in the next 2 weeks (preferably a bit earlier) if you plan on the package to make it there by Christmas. (just to be safe.. it could take 1 week or 3 weeks depending on the trek)

Trust me no matter what you send, I am sure he will be happy just to have a package to open.. so don't stress too much on extravagant gifts... anything that will remind him of home would be a plus.

LGD

Darkwitless

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 21, 2010
KY