Hemoglobin, Hemocrit levels from vaping

Status
Not open for further replies.

legbuh

ECF Veteran
Jun 30, 2009
Hi, all!

I know that smoking raises your Hemoglobin levels in your blood. Mine have been on the edge of high for a couple years, and now they're "over" the limit.

When I saw this on my latest bloodtest I decided I need to quit smoking. I've been vaping for a few months, and still smoking. Before the test I smoked a lot since I drove an hour to where it was done.

I'm wondering if vaping has the same affect on HG levels in the blood as smoking does. I am giving blood in a couple weeks and they test there, so I'll see if it's high or back within the range after cutting smoking down from a pack to 4-5 analogs a day (hopefully less.. baby steps!)

Madame Psychosis

ECF Veteran
Nov 18, 2009
East Coast Gypsy
Be reassured, you can vape all you like: Nicotine is not what causes the elevated hemoglobin levels. It's the carbon monoxide from cigarettes: see this abstract here from the Journal of the American Medical Association. Quoted:
Anemia is a condition of inadequate hemoglobin, due either to defects in hemoglobin formation or a reduced number of red blood cells. Cigarette smoking is known to cause an increase in the level of hemoglobin, apparently as a response to the tight chemical bond that becomes established between carbon monoxide (a by-product of tobacco smoking) and hemoglobin.

Sadly, this effect (along with the extra energy from nicotine) is probably what has been masking my ferritin(iron)-deficiency anemia for a long time now...I am just discovering this. :( (I would especially encourage young women who are vaping to get their ferritin levels and red blood counts checked when they have stopped analogs, especially if they have any symptoms associated with anemia.)
See this abstract for the explanation: