How does the switch and mosfet work in a dual 18650 box mod?

Status
Not open for further replies.

collinsmcrae

ECF Veteran
Sep 20, 2015
I have been racking my brain trying to understand this schematic. With my limited knowledge on electrical circuits, it looks to me like an atomizer would just auto fire in this configuration. I know that this isn't the case because this is a standard design. But what are the switches inturrupting exactly? How is inturrupting that smal red positive wire preventing the big red wire connected to the 510 from completing the circuit? I'm sorry, but I am a total novice at this point, which is something I intend to remedy. I prefer to understand what I'm doing, rather than just follow instructions. Any information from you non novices out there is always greatly appreciated

0d0e0fb22e5d806df24f1fcd0a4fe6a5.jpg

collinsmcrae

ECF Veteran
Sep 20, 2015
the "smal red positive wire" turns on the mosfet,
assuming the schematic is correct for a low side mosfet switch.
Thank you. I think I get it now. So the Mosfet is a switch itself, and requires a low load to activate. This low load is what the firing switch interrupts, which takes the burden of the full load off of it, and let's the mosfet handle the heavy lifting. Is that about the gist of it, or am I still off?

Last edited:
Reactions: Dougiestyle

Alexander Mundy

Ribbon Twister
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 1, 2013
Springfield, MO
Thank you. I think I get it now. So the Mosfet is a switch itself, and requires a low load to activate. This low load is what the firing switch interrupts, which takes the burden of the full load off of it, and let's the mosfet handle the heavy lifting. Is that about the gist of it, or am I still off?