How TC works? (physics, common sense, etc.)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alien Traveler

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 3, 2014
United States
Here is my taking on TC theory. Not that I am sure I am right, but hope in can serve as a starting point for application of collective wisdom.
Even worse: I am a TC novice...
But anyway...

1. When everything is tuned right, difference between TC and VW is minimal - TC can ramp temperature up faster, and that's it (below - diagram of temperature of a coil):

tc-vw1.png

2. Preset temperature of a coil is not a real temperature of a coil. It is something like average temperature of a coil, because temperature is higher from inside. But it should not bother as, vapers. We are buying not thermometers, but mods for vaping, and they are working as they should. But if we want to understand the process of vaping a bit better we have to apply some physics. Temperature of coil surface in normal (not overpowered) conditions is determined mostly by boiling point of juice. Setting temperature higher than boiling point does not change temperature of surface, it increases temperature in the center of a wire, supplying more heat to surface, boiling more juice. Of course at some moment increase of "average" temperature could be too high, and surface will increase its temperature. It is called overheating. Then at some points (at defects of a wire or a wick) vapor pockets can be formed, leading to popping sounds and juice splashing. It is true for both TC and VW. TC shines in preventing dry heats - without proper cooling by boiling juice temperature spikes and TC very fast goes in low wattage (or even near zero wattage) territory. I really enjoyed vaping till wick was pretty (fully?) dry.