I have access to some equipment, should I...

Status
Not open for further replies.

berktt

ECF Veteran
Apr 6, 2010
NYC
So, I'm an Electrical & Computer Engineering student, and I have access to all this equipment I can use in the lab, you know, like the Digital Multi-Meter (DMM), oscilloscope, and most importantly, a DC generator that generates up to 30 V :) What do you guys think, maybe it's time to do some experimentation see how for I can push an atomizer :D I'm still new to vaping, haven't really thought about it until now. I was wondering if anybody else here who did something similar could give me some tips?

mendnwngs

ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
Central California
You could try upping the voltage to 12-20v, but drive it with a moderately high speed pwm.

I don't know much about these attys, but I can only assume theyre simply a resistive load, perhaps high voltage, current limited by pulse-width might offer an advantage? Perhaps no V-drop when the atty is turned on, causing a more robust vapor?

I don't know.. Just spitballing.

A PWM in the 30+KHz switching range, so its at least out of human hearing range?

-Jason

Theophage

Sep 28, 2010
South East USA
So, I'm an Electrical & Computer Engineering student, and I have access to all this equipment I can use in the lab, you know, like the Digital Multi-Meter (DMM), oscilloscope, and most importantly, a DC generator that generates up to 30 V :) What do you guys think, maybe it's time to do some experimentation see how for I can push an atomizer :D I'm still new to vaping, haven't really thought about it until now. I was wondering if anybody else here who did something similar could give me some tips?

I would be inclined to use a lab power supply with both voltage and current controls.
The change in resistance of the heater is probably pretty small as long as the heater is wet.
It would be interesting to see how much power a couple of different attys require to become red hot.