• This forum has been archived

If you'd like to post a thread, post it here instead!

View Forum

I'm Definitely Wrecked & Bonkers

Status
Not open for further replies.

rave

* Resident Wood Nymph *
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 20, 2009
Raven's Haven, Indiana
It's rather tough to know how to start this. Let's just say that this is definitely the social group that suits me best. Normally, I'm not a social person, and have always been very reclusive. So reclusive that I live in the middle of a forest with no neighbors for as far as the eye can see. But there are times when you just need the company of others that may understand, at least to a degree. I guess I'll start where it all began to crumble.

For fifteen years I was a professional wildlife artist - touring the country to exhibit my paintings at about 25 wildlife art shows a year. That was my identity: artist. For some reason, my vision began to suddenly cloud over in my right eye and I was having a lot of mental confusion. I was forced to cancel shows on my venue because it wasn't safe to drive. Then my entire right side went numb, and after $13,000 worth of tests and hospitalization costs (and no insurance) I was diagnosed with MS (multiple sclerosis). My career was over.

In one fell swoop I lost my identity, my occupation, and my friends. All of my friends were other wildlife artists who also toured. Except for my husband. We were together for 24 years, and still deeply in love. He was the best friend that I'd ever had.