Is it normal for coils NOT to give a crackle sound?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DerpMeetsTF2

Oct 11, 2018
So ive been vaping for all of 2 months however, everytime I have ever used a sub ohm tank it makes that crackling sound. Now from what I can gather thats normal and what should be happening. Ever since ive started using this new tank however it has had none of that. Is that normal? It probably isnt a big deal but like ive said, ive never had that NOT happen. I cant seem to find any information on tanks not giving that sound, only things that say the crackling sound is normal. So I figured id just make a thread about it.

Frenchfry1942

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 12, 2014
Some crackling, my understanding, is good. Are we heating the juice or are we vaporizing the juice? Now, if it is a loud crackling then the power is to high and the wick will burn and give a lousy taste. Also, a bit of crackling indicates that juice is actually in contact with the coil. Think about all sugar gunk sticking to a coil that is not getting enough power. That crackling is also preventing the mucky juice from sticking to the coil. There is a bit of balance with the power. To much and everything gets burned, to little and you get no vape.

IMHO...

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
It should be more a steaming sound than a crackle.
And what exactly is a steamy sound? :blink: Like a tea pot boiling and whistling? Never had that sound coming from any of my coils.

A few years ago when I was using cartomizers and cartotanks, I knew I had a great carto if it made a crackling sound.

The coils in clearomizer tanks used nowadays may or may not have that crackling sound. Most of the time they are relatively silent in my experience. The same holds true with the rebuildable coils in our RBA's.