Joye 306, 510, EGO, etc.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Odyssey in Atrophy

Oct 18, 2010
New York
I tried posting this in the Joye 306 model specific forum, but no one can seem to offer any advice. So I'll ask the pros.

I'm about to purchase my first 306 model. I understand this is compatible with the parts from the 510. This is my first time using an exposed atty. I'll probably dip/drip at home, but when I'm at work, I'd like to use the carts.

Is there anything special I should know about using an exposed atty? Also, what is the difference between a low resistance atty and a regular atty? I see LR atty's mentioned a lot on this site, but I cannot find an explanation.

One last thing: I sometimes see carts that have a thin mouthpiece, as opposed to a regular, round mouthpiece. I like the thin mouthpiece design, but I only see one for the joye EGO. Is this compatible with a 306 battery? Is the thin mouthpiece called something specific? Any benefits associated with that? Or is it simply a design choice.

Thank you,
Odyssey

Kent C

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 12, 2009
NW Ohio US
Is there anything special I should know about using an exposed atty? Also, what is the difference between a low resistance atty and a regular atty? I see LR atty's mentioned a lot on this site, but I cannot find an explanation.

One last thing: I sometimes see carts that have a thin mouthpiece, as opposed to a regular, round mouthpiece. I like the thin mouthpiece design, but I only see one for the joye EGO. Is this compatible with a 306 battery? Is the thin mouthpiece called something specific? Any benefits associated with that? Or is it simply a design choice.

Thank you,
Odyssey

Of course with the exposed atty on the 306 you have to be careful not to burn yourself when filling the cart.