Life expectancy of AW IMR 18650 3.7v 1600mah Batteries???

Status
Not open for further replies.

popeye79

ECF Veteran
Mar 11, 2011
WA, USA
Hi guys, I'm new to these batteries. So just a few questions..

I got two AW IMR 18650 3.7V 1600mAh batts from SuperT Manufacturing...

1.) What is the life expectancy on these, how long will they last before needing to buy new ones? Are they rated for a certain number of charge cycles? Is there a ruff amount of months?

2.) My bats only charge upto 4.1V (at least that's what my lava tube tells me). By the end of the day I'm down to about 3.7V. Should I continue using down to 3.3-3.5v, or is it ok to charge every night?

3.) I know I'm not supposed to charge unattended, should I worry about doing it while sleeping? Or will over charging for a few hours while sleeping cause any problems?

Thanks in advance everyone! :)

madjack

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 17, 2011
Central Louisiana
Hi guys, I'm new to these batteries. So just a few questions..

I got two AW IMR 18650 3.7V 1600mAh batts from SuperT Manufacturing...

1.) What is the life expectancy on these, how long will they last before needing to buy new ones? Are they rated for a certain number of charge cycles? Is there a ruff amount of months?

I have no actual idea the # of charge cycles but it should be in the 500+ range...if you charge everyday, that is well over 1yr of usage....

2.) My bats only charge upto 4.1V (at least that's what my lava tube tells me). By the end of the day I'm down to about 3.7V. Should I continue using down to 3.3-3.5v, or is it ok to charge every night?

...max charge is 4.2v...that tenth of a volt is well within the accuracy factor of the meters involved or the charger used...it is better to not run batts all the way down before recharging...so charging every night is best.

3.) I know I'm not supposed to charge unattended, should I worry about doing it while sleeping? Or will over charging for a few hours while sleeping cause any problems?