Looking for advice/help for new 510-t (and future upgrades/alternatives)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I'm a newbie, and by newbie I do mean I literally opened the box on my first starter kit (510-t) yesterday afternoon. First impressions matter a lot and mine have been mixed but favorable. For example, I spent 10 hours "vaping" (I've been reading up!) and never looked at a cigarette. So I'm definitely hooked on making the switch. The downside is that the 510-t strikes me as weird which is probably just me. A few observations I had:

1. The first atomizer I tried seemed to have issues producing vapor and eventually started gurgling a little bit (no fluid came out so didn't seem to be flooded) - the second seemed to work much better (and felt hot to the touch unlike the first). I did buy a few spare attys just in case - I heard they can be a bit hit or miss. China and Quality Control should be better acquainted!
2. There seemed to be a period at the start where vapor production was quite low - it evened out, sort of (see 4), reasonably soon though. I put that down to the primer and a settling in time for the wick.
3. The atty runs very hot to the touch - hopefully this is normal!
4. I'm currently getting 2-3 hits (slow draw for 3-4 seconds) before vapor production tapers away to very little. The first two puffs tend to have a slight crackling/popping sound - it gets less each time and gone by third puff. Leaving the 510-t to one side for a few minutes allows for another 2-3 hits. Seems consistent that way. Is this normal - maybe a limitation of the wick/tank system - no idea if it's wicking too little or too much? Am I too used to normal cigarettes - taking 20+ draws? Maybe the atty just needs a day or two to get working on all puffs?