Mech Mods and neww vapers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coolsiggy

ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2018
Perth, Western Australia
I understand Ohms law and as I am new to vaping I have become somewhat concerned over the use of Mech mods. I have read that while some Mech mods have current limitation this is not uniform and that current through the battery is controlled by coil or mesh resistance using Ohms law.
Question, are Mech Mods available without current safety limits that have a 510 connector which permits the use of various Atty heads?

• Optimistic
Reactions: stols001

Shawn Hoefer

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 21, 2015
Arkansas Ozarks
I understand Ohms law and as I am new to vaping I have become somewhat concerned over the use of Mech Mods. I have read that while some Mech Mods have current limitation this is not uniform and that current through the battery is controlled by coil or mesh resistance using Ohms law.
Question, are Mech Mods available without current safety limits that have a 510 connector which permits the use of various Atty heads?
If a mod has any kind of safety, it's not a truly a mech. A mech is a battery, a coil, and a switch. That is all. The power is derived by calculating the voltage (known from the battery... generally between 3.2 volts and 4.2 volts, not accounting for voltage drop across the mod/switch/atty). A mod with some sort of safety is considered unregulated. The new Fush is an unregulated (although some will call them semi-mech or half mechs).

The current limitation comes from the battery's rating. A Samsung 25R has a Continuous Drain Rating (CDR) or 20 Amps, an LG HG2 has a CDR of 20A, a Samsung 20S has a CDR of 30A, a Sony VTC5A has a CDR of 25A, and so on. Search for Battery Mooch here on ECF or on Facebook. He routinely tests batteries and produces charts showing recommended batteries and their CDR. The age of the battery in use can also play a factor because as a battery gets older, the CDR is reduced.