Most durable wood for Woodvil?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cadman

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 1, 2009
Oklahoma
Which wood is the toughest, most durable? The higher the wood density, the stronger the wood.

Find the Woodvil that you want and do a search on the density of the wood, like the Zebra/Ebony combo:
Zebra 50 lbs/cu.ft.
Ebony 57 lbs/cu.ft.

This should be a durable combination.

Just something to think about when choosing the Woodvil that you want.

Reactions: MamaTried

MamaTried

Resting In Peace
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 31, 2013
Northern California
Karen has posted a link to a listing that mentions all of the different wood characteristics

but, of course, i forgot to bookmark it

based on personal experience, however, curly oak stands up to abuse as well or better than the metal grands

RuDawg7890

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 19, 2013
Sinking Spring, PA, USA
Not that I've had time for it lately, but I am a hobbyist woodworker. I do not have a Woodvil, but I've seen what types of woods Rob uses. IIRC, he uses all hardwoods. Off of the top of my head, maple is probably the softest wood he uses, but maple is still a hardwood. Most of his woods are exotics, which are extremely hard woods. Regardless of how hard the wood is, some care should still be taken. Even the hardest of woods can still be brittle, they can be strong in how much weight they can withstand, but dropping on a hard floor can still chip them.

Spydro

Sindoyen
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 20, 2013
nowhither