Status
Not open for further replies.

tA71ana

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 26, 2012
Round N Round the Mulberry Bush
I have recently started doing atomizer rebuilds.
So far I have rebuilt the coil on my Vivi Nova. The first one was terrible..it had a short and the resistance was too low.
not to be easily sullied, I built a second coil; this one was much better. it came out at 2.6 ohms.
This is the issue:
I got an Excel XL830L multimeter and after watching YouTube vids I fired it up and tried to test my ohms on the first and second coil I built and the reading kept jumping around. I have never used a multimeter before and I know this has got to be user error.
I did the following:
Read the instructions, lol
I attached the black lead to the COM and the red lead to the V (ohm) mA.
I turned the dial pointer to the 200 marker within the OHM area of the dial .
I tested the internal resistance of the meter so i could subtract that from the total ohm reading after I determined the resistance of the coil.
I took a cartomizer to test..I knew the resistance on it was 2.5.
I put the red lead into the bottom of the carto and the black lead against the threads (that's what it looked like on Youtube) and...

It jumped around so much I couldn't tell what the devil the resistance was, lol
Tried several times..same result.

What I finally wound up doing was testing the coil assembly on my Zmax and setting the display to resistance at 3.0w with a batt in my Zmax that was at 3.5v.
I took the batt out of my Zmax, put it in my Vamo and retested at 3.0v, both coils. As mentioned earlier, the first coil came up as 'short' but the second one (did more wraps with 32g kanthal) came up to 2.6ohms on my Zmax and 2.5ohms on my Vamo.

I really wanted to get one of those carto ohm testers on a box but they were sold out everywhere.

As for the multimeter..operator/user error.
Any ideas/suggestions/admonishments/etc would be much appreciated :D

BuzzKilla

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran