Muted flavor Zeus X RTA

Status
Not open for further replies.

UncleEddy

Aug 2, 2019
Hi all!

I recently bought the Zeus X RTA after I have been using the Freemax Mesh Pro with the dual kanthal coil. The Zeus X is my first RTA, but as suprised as I was of the flavor from the Mesh Pro, as disappointed I am now about the flavor of the Zeus X. I have watched a lot of Zeus X wicking tutorials and I think I have done a decent build (Will upload photo of the wicking later today). But the flavor is very muted for me, and I am experiencing throat hit as well, which I didn't have with the Mesh Pro.

Is there something which I might have forgot or must do in order to enhance the flavor? I am new to RTA's so maybe it is the coils, maybe it is the brand of the cotton or the wrong wicking method or maybe even the voltage... I have no idea at the moment.

Configuration:
- vaporesso Luxe S in Wattage mode (65-75W)
- The two coils included with the Zeus X
- XFKM Cotton Gemoh

Liquids:
- Rainbowvapes Forest Fruit (80VG-20PG - 3MG)
- Twelve Monkeys Matata (75VG-25PG - 3MG)

Last edited:

bombastinator

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
MN USA
The throat hit and the muted flavor make it Sound like it’s running hot and dry. So a wicking AND a power problem. Or just a wicking problem if it’s bad enough. Did you look at the coil and make sure it was staying wet?

Also it’s not mesh, I don’t think anyway. Iirc (which I might not be)the Zeus x is dual standard coil. Mesh is new tech, and it’s become popular for a reason. Mesh has advantages and disadvantages, but the advantages are often in vape quality. Disadvantages include heating element lifespan, general fiddlyness, immense cotton requirements, and hot spot issues. They only run well if they’re set up just right. Coils are more forgiving, versatile, and simple.