My coil is now 5 months old of daily use, why have I not tasted the burn yet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juicee7

Dec 4, 2017
Hello All, my friend bought me my first vape back in March and I used it for 4 months before it broke on me but the coil would burn on me on average every 7-9 days.
Then I bought a new vape with 3 coils, 0.18 Ohm 0.3 and 0.5. I have been using 0.3 ohm since end of July and have not yet tried my other coils. I was wondering if maybe my coil is defective and masks something potentially dangerous because once every month i pull out a huge black gunk from my vape and yet it does not ever taste like a burn. I am a newb at understanding how coils work, however the juice does not have any foul taste. Am I putting my health at risk by using 5 months old coil? Is it time to change? Do I have special permanent coils? Please Help!

Reactions: stols001

madstabber

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 20, 2013
Concoction Creating Cave
Well first off you don’t have to worry if it is or isn’t filtering properly. The cotton wicks don’t filter. But with your coil not tasting burnt, I get that with my coils as well. At minimum I use a coil for a couple months. My coils never get a burnt flavor either I usually change them out when I have to increase the power to the coil because they are gunked up super bad. Even then they don’t taste burnt the just get inefficient so I swap them. My only guess is that it’s the juice. I mix my own and it’s a sweet tobacco or ry4 type juice but yea I have the same “problem” you have with coils needing to be so gunked up I can’t suck through them or the wire snapped before it’s time for a change. It’s the reason I don’t bother making my own coils. I like the performance of the factory coils and they last forever, so there’s no need. In the words of Bobby McFerrin “don’t worry, be happy”.

Katya

ECF Guru
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 23, 2010
SoCal