My mini review of the Russian 91%

Status
Not open for further replies.

desertrider

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 5, 2014
Phoenix
Ive been using mostly Nautilus tanks for the last 4 months, and although they are probably the best clearimizers out there, I just wanted something....more. More flavor, more vapor (although Im not what you would call a cloud chaser), and more solid. Just like anything, the Nautilus DOES have its quirks. After a month of reading, I decided on either a real Kayfun Lite, or a Russian 91%. I chose the Russian for the air control.

I got the Russian from my local B&M who's sticker price was lower than online ($89.99). B&M gave it to me for $84.99 as Ive spent quite a bit of money there haha. Got some 28g Kanthal, and an ohm tester. Also got some organic cotton from Walgreens.

I have to say my first few builds were...for lack of better words...LMFAO haha. They got better each time, but man. Those coils were funny looking! Anyway, finally got a good one built...about 5/64 12 wrap coil, came in at about 2ohm (if I remember correctly). initially, it was fabulous. Great vapor, fantastic flavor, but after about 15-20 puffs started burning. I thought maybe my cotton was too dense, so rebuilt the wick. Again. And again. And again. (Im vaping at about 4v BTW but tried all the way down to 3.2).

After a couple of days of frustration and opening up my tank finding the cotton in the middle of my coil being burned, I decided to make a bigger coil. I used 7/64. Made a nice fluffy wick for it, put everything together, and hoped.

SUCCESS!