My workplace is having a 'stop smoking' seminar, and promoting NRT. Should I attend to promote vaping?

Status
Not open for further replies.

nanovapr

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 15, 2011
Catatonic State, USA
I work at a place that is vaguely smoker friendly. Our CEO is a smoker, and provides an indoor air conditioned/heated smoking room (that really, really smells bad, despite exhaust). Out of 1500 employees, there is perhaps less than a hundred smokers at our company. I have been vaping for 11 months with zero cigs, and remain a big proponent of vaping.

Our official smoking policy is spelled out as "no tobacco products", and is intended to mean smoking and chewing. I vape openly in a room with four cubes, with the blessing of my boss and co-workers, all non-smokers. My boss's boss is also very happy I have quit smoking, and he has suggested to one of his smoking friends he should check into it.

I have considered several times contacting HR, to see if we could have it officially a policy that it is OK to vape. I have thought about speaking to the CEO directly about it. I understand that people that don't know about it think you are smoking, when they see exhaled vapor. I never have, because "it's easier to ask forgiveness, than to ask permission". I vape away happily in my own little corner of our company, and still visit the smoking room because I have friends there.