Need Help from the Experts, Building my 1st Mod.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DEATHTOCIGS

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 9, 2011
TEXAS
I think I need help from the experts. I want to build a DNA20 box mod. I have seen a tutorial on this forum for a MILO - DNA20. These were great instructions but left me with some questions. I am not an expert at electronics or soldering.

1. Should I use stranded or non stranded wire?

2. Is soldering applied to both sides of the board (the picture looked like it may have been).

3. Are there any pcb connectors that could work that would eliminate the need for soldering altogether?

4. The instructions started with desoldering and removing the tactile fire button. Is this really necessary? The information on the evolve website lead me to believe if you wired a switch to the correct through holes in the board, the DNA20 would recognize it and bypass the onboard firing option in favor of the installed button. I was wondering if this was only a space constraint on the Milo mod?

5. I wanted to use different buttons, there are many options on the Mad Vapes website that I found quite confusing. Does it matter what amp rating the buttons have for the DNA20? Whats the difference between a switch thats normally off and one thats normally on. Is one better for this application than the other. Will both work to controll the up down wattage control?

6. I want to make this an 18650 mod. I thought I saw on another post that the DNA20 should use non protected batteries. Is that true, because all of the 18650s I have are protected?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

MattBott

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 23, 2012
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
I think I need help from the experts. I want to build a DNA20 box mod. I have seen a tutorial on this forum for a MILO - DNA20. These were great instructions but left me with some questions. I am not an expert at electronics or soldering.