Need Some Guidance re: 510s, Mega-Batteries and Addys.

Status
Not open for further replies.

richs10

ECF Veteran
May 10, 2010
Maryland
As a noob, I need some help learning about batteries and atomizers. As I try to shop at some of the sites, it seems the vendors really don't provide a lot of info as to compatability and I don't want to buy something that's going to cause me a problem.

I'm using the Joye 510s with the standard 180mAh batteries. I love the draw and the carts are easy to refill, but I would really like a longer life battery. I think I've found a good deal on a package of two 510s that come with the 280mAh "Mega" Battery but I want to make sure I can interchange and mix the 280mAh batteries with my existing atomizers. Is there any difference between the atomizers used with the standard 510 batts versus the 510s with the Mega batts? Are the larger batteries going to burn out my attys faster? The reason I ask is the vendor's description refers to "2 SLB 510 Atomizers". What does SLB mean?

My second question: Am I correct in thinking a "low resistance" 510 atomizer will drain the battery faster? Since I am happy with the present performance of the standard 510's (except battery life), I believe I should avoid the low resistance attys. Is this correct?

Thanks for any help on this stuff.
There is a TON of stuff to learn with these things!

Rich

irwink

CASAA Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 16, 2010
Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Having just traveled the same road my advice is to skip the 510 mega batteries and just get an eGo/Tornado. Either fits the 510 atomizers and carts - they're just vastly higher capacity batteries in essence.

I got some of the 510 mega batteries a couple or three weeks after my first 510 kit. They were an improvement but still not enough of an improvement for me so I got an eGo kit from Cignot.com for $78. The eGo and Tornado are pretty much the same thing - just different names.

Now my standard and mega 510 batteries are just spares.