New atomizer cleaning method (Contrex). worked AWESOME!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShMiGgY

ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2009
Hey all,

Well, i work in a lab first off, so i'm not sure if this stuff would be readily available. BUT, I tried my first experiment at cleaning a super mini atomizer (one that would not hit, or when it did, gave that burnt plastic taste every draw whenever it would try)... It was about a month old, and was used by two people at the same time when my wife and i only had one NPRO to quit with between us. No prior cleanings and basically in the junk pile but as much use on it as humanly possible (well, two humans worth).

We have an acid based detergent at work used for cleaning glassware and removing metal oxides called Contrex.. It is some pretty good stuff i gotta say...

I tried making a 2% solution (2ml contrex/100ml DeIonized water) with it today in DI water and placed the atomizer in a beaker with the solution. Then placed the beaker in a Branson laboratory Sonicator (fancy ultrasonic cleaner).

I gave it 30 minutes in the contrex solution. Then rinsed under DI water, And sonicated again, but this time with DI water for 15 minutes. Rinsed again with DI water and sonicated again in straight DI water for another 30 minutes with another DI rinse after it was done.

I am happy to report that after 2 or 3 primer puffs, it is hitting FULL BORE now.. Acutally better than it ever has to tell the truth. No plastic taste at all, just pure e juice (currently it is atomizing Red Tea for me)... No off flavors at all, and the red tea is a more subtle flavor to boot, all the flavor is there ...

I am very happy with this method, only took an hour and the atomizer looked brand new when i was all said and done. The metal looks cleaner than my new atomizers even do, and the coil is buildup free and a nice white color to the ceramic... It looks brand new.