New to the 901 - Help!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elokin6

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 21, 2009
Miami
I've been using my 510 for several months, and I've gotten past the need for a monstrous throat hit. I've been looking for better flavor, so I purchased a 901 a few weeks ago. I dig the flavor, but I'm not happy with my 901 experience so far. I'm seriously considering selling my stuff, but I'm hoping that you guys can talk me down. Here are my concerns:

With an auto battery, I have to draw SO FREAKING HARD to keep the battery going. Way harder than I do with my 510 auto battery. Is this normal?

With the manual 901 battery, I have to push SO FREAKING HARD on the button to get the damn thing to fire. Once again, is that normal?

With either battery, I don't get jack squat in the way of vapor.

The throat hit is nonexistent. I'm not just saying that it's less than the 510 (duh, right?), I'm saying that it does not exist. At all.

The draw with my 901 is much harder than with my 510. Is this normal?

My manual batteries have a cut off that seems reasonable, but I can't get any decent amount of vapor or any throat hit at all before it starts flashing at me. Is there any way around that?

I've tried dripping and using a cart, but both seem to be about the same. I know that there is a learning curve when it comes to the e-cigs, but I'm pretty much ready to give up on this thing. I like the flavor, but that's it so far. Please tell me that I'm doing something wrong.

Thanks,
Kayla

JebGipson

ECF Veteran
Sep 6, 2009
Clark County, Washington, USA
I love my 901, but I have rather large lungs so I can relate to the whole cut off issue, I typically "double clutch" on it as in I take a 5 second draw give it a sec then draw again till it cuts off before I exhale. (careful on triple clutching though it makes a burnt flavor for me at least) And depending on the juice I get a better throat hit and "ploom" from my 901 than the 510.